How Can Nepal Qualify for ICC T20 World Cup 2022 ? See Here

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia is set to take place in October and November in 2022. Originally, the tournament was to be held in 2020, however, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed, due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

11 regional qualification tournaments across five regions will be conducted for the final spots in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.  86 different teams will vie for the opportunity to fill the 15 World Cup spots – with hosts Australia already securing the one.

What are the qualification criteria?

How Can Nepal Qualify for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

There will be 16 teams in the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. 12 spots will be filled by the teams playing in the super 12 of ICC T20 World Cup 2021. Twelve teams are already qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The are India, Pakistan, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, West Indies, Australia, New Zealand, Namibia, Scotland, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The four teams which didn’t make it to the super 12 in ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will play the global qualifiers along with other associates. Ireland, Netherlands, Oman and PNG will join Nepal and other associates in global qualifiers.

The remaining 4 spots for the World Cup 2022 will be filled by the top four teams in Global Qualifiers.

What is Global Qualifiers?

Global Qualifiers is the last stage of the Qualification process for the World Cup. There will be 16 teams in the Global Qualifiers and will be divided into two groups with eight teams in each group. Top two teams from each group will qualify for the World Cup.

Teams Qualified for Global Qualifiers: Nepal, UAE, Singapore, Zimbabwe, Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, PNG, USA, Canada, Bahrain, Hong Kong, Philippines, Jersey, Germany.

How to reach the Global Qualifiers ?

Four teams which can’t make it to the Super 12 in ICC T20 World Cup 2021 will join the Global Qualifiers. Similarly, four teams will be from the ICC T20I Rankings which are already set. Nepal, Singapore, Zimbabwe and UAE are already qualified for the Global Qualifiers.

Similarly, the remaining 8 spots in Global Qualifiers will be filled by the Regional Qualifiers.

At regional level there will be 67 Associate Members taking part. Due to the depth of strength within Africa and Europe, both regions have sub regional qualifiers feeding into a final qualifier for the region. Africa, Americas, EAP and Europe will have one top tier regional qualifier and Asia will have A and B to determine which teams will progress into the two eight-team global qualifiers.

ICC has revealed the two groups for the global qualifiers. Nepal is seeded at group A along with Oman, Ireland, UAE, Philippines, Canada, Bahrain and Germany. Oman is the host for the group A. Nepal will need to stay in top two to qualify for the world cup.

How Can Nepal Qualify for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

Nepal, Singapore, UAE and Zimbabwe which have gained direct entry based on their MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings. Therefore, Nepal will not have to compete in the regional qualifiers. In last edition, Nepal were knocked out from the Regional Qualifiers before reaching the Global Qualifiers.

In order to qualify for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022, Nepal will have to finish in top two of eight teams group in the global qualifiers. However, the group is not divided yet as all 16 teams in Global Qualifiers are yet to be completed. For the World Cup spot, Nepal need to play against teams like Zimbabwe, UAE, Singapore, PNG and many others.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *