Australia Reveals 18-Men Squad for India ODI Series

Australia has unveiled its 18-player team for the upcoming ODI series against India, scheduled to kick off on 22 September. The squad sees the comeback of numerous key players, notably captain Pat Cummins, as they prepare to face India in the three-match series.

During their previous white-ball tour in South Africa, several of Australia’s regulars were absent, healing from injuries sustained in the intense Ashes series and the events following.

Both Cummins and Steve Smith were on the mend from wrist injuries, while Mitchell Starc battled discomfort in his groin and shoulder post his UK return. Glenn Maxwell, although initially on the South Africa trip, had to leave due to an ankle injury during training and later, to welcome the birth of his child. Fortunately for Australia, Maxwell is now fit and ready for the India tour.

Cameron Green, who had to sit out three ODIs against South Africa due to a concussion suffered in the opening game, made a comeback in the concluding ODI. Following the eight-day concussion protocol, Green is primed to play against India.

However, the squad has seen some notable exclusions, including Travis Head and Ashton Agar. Agar missed the T20I segment of the South Africa tour due to a calf injury and was rested for the subsequent two ODIs. He recently returned to Australia for the birth of his child.

Meanwhile, Head, with a fractured hand from the fourth ODI, is racing against time to be ready for the World Cup and will be heading directly to Australia instead of joining the team in India.

Matt Short and Spencer Johnson are two uncapped players in the squad.

Australia Reveals 18-Men Squad for India ODI Series

Australia’s Squad for India ODI Series:
Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *